Chartist Land Company officials, 1849

This page names local officials of the Chartist Land Plan, which aimed to resettle workers on smallholdings by collecting small share contributions from Chartists and allocating farms by lot.

The National Land Company never found an adequate legal basis for its activities, and the continuing uncertainty about its status, and in particular its relationship to Feargus O’Connor, led to accusations of financial impropriety as well as of incompetence.

The company never succeeded in shaking off suspicions that its cash went to subsidise O’Connor’s publication of the Northern Star newspaper, But it did succeed in developing a local branch structure throughout the country through which revenues were raised and administration conducted.

In an attempt to resolve some of the problems faced by the company, the directors called a conference “to consider the whole question of the company, with a view to its decisive and satisfactory settlement”. Branches were asked to elect delegates and collected three pence from each member to cover expenses.

The conference was to be held at Snig’s End on Monday, August 6 1849. The following list of branch secretaries was published in the Northern Star, of July 14, 1849.

Northampton District – William Munday, Silver-street, Secretary. – Peterborough, Wellingborough, Kettering, Coventry, Warwick, Leamington, Stoney Stratford, Newport Pagnel.

Swindon District – David Morrison, 2, Bath-street, Secretary. – Banbury, Minster, Witney, O’Connorville, Newbury, Reading, Devizes, Market Lavington, Salisbury, Oxford.

Sheffield District – George Cavill, 33, Queen-street, Secretary. – Sheffield, Rotherham, Barnsley, Doncaster, Warsboro’ Common.

Nottingham District – James Sweet, Goose-gate, Secretary. – Nottingham, Newark, Mansfield, Sutton, Carrington, New Radford, East Retford.

Leicester District – Thomas Newton, 36, Fleet-street, Secretary. – Derby, Leicester, Belper, Lougborough, Mount Sorrell, Burrowash.

Manchester District – Wiiliam Foster, Alice-street, Devonshire-street, Hulme, Secretary.

Salford District – Thomas Tomlinson, Church-grove, Pendleton, Secretary. – Salford, Newtonheath, Middleton, Eccles.

Preston District – James Brown, Moor-lane, Secretary. – Preston, Chorley, Clitheroe, Lancaster, Warrington, Birkenhead and Liverpool.

Bolton District – William Pickvance, 18, Duncan-street, Secretary. – Bolton, Bury, Heywood, Radcliffe Bridge, Blackburn, Acrington, Haslingden, Oswaldtwistle.

Teignmouth District – James Edwards, hat manufacturer, Secretary. – Teignmouth, Truro, Totness, Newton Abbott, Exeter.

Tiverton District – Henry Land, Prospect-place, Secretary. – Tiverton, Barnstaple, Bridgewater, South Molton, Cullumpton, Wellington, Taunton.

Bristol District – Charles Clark, St George’s, St. Philip’s, Secretary. – Bath, Merthyr, Newport, Abergavenny, Monmouth, Glocester, Cirencester, Upton, Lowbands, Snig’s End.

Worcester District – James Harding, City Arms, Secretary. Kidderminster, Stourbridge, Pershore, Bromsgrove, Malvern.

Bradford (York) District – Michael Connell, Albion-square, Manchester-road, Secretary. Idle, Otley, Clayton, Bramhope, Keighley.

Hull District – George Barnett, 177 High-street, Secretary. – Leeds, Armley, Selby, York, Scarborough.

Newcastle District – Two members – Mr Forest, Raulway-terrace, Secretary. – Newcastle-upon-Tyne, Windynook, North and South Shields, Carlisle, Sunderland, Durham, Bishopswearmouth, Easington Lane, Thornley, Cockermouth.

Birmingham District – Charles Goodwin, 19, Darwin-street, Secretary. Birmingham, Wolverhampton, Bilston, Walsall, smethwick.

Hanley District – Mr Silvester, Tontine-street, Secretary. – Hanley, Longton, Burslem, Crewe, Congleton.

Stockport District – T.Woodhouse, 4, Angel-street, Secretary. – Stockport, Chester, Hyde, Macclesfield.

Ashton District – James Taylor, Turner-lane, Secretary. – Ashton, Staleybridge, Mottram, Glossop, Duckinfield, Mosley, Droylsden.

Burnley District – Henry Smith, Curron-street, Secretary. Burnley, Padiham, Colne, Barrowford, Bacup, Todmorden, Skipton, Hebden-bridge.

Rochdale District – Edward Mitchell, 55 Cheetham-street, Secretary. – Rochdale, Oldham, Hollingwood.

Halifax District – J.S.Anderson, Blackledge, Secretary. – Halifax, Elland, Sowerby, Wakefield, Huddersfield, Dewsbury, Little Town, Holmfirth.

Brighton District – George Giles, Victoria-street, Secretary. – Brighton, Chatham, Maidstone, Tunbridge, Crayford, Isle of Wight, Portsmouth, Southamptonm, Gosport, Blandford.

Ipswich District – Mr Gerrard, News Agent, Secretary. – Braintree, Bury St Edmunds, Colchester, Brightlingsea, Norwich, Wisbeach, Lynn, Ely, Brandon, Yarmouth, Cambridge.

Glasgow District – Duncan Sherrington, Romford-street, Bridgeton, Secretary. – Greenock, Alexandria, Kilmarnock, Paisley, Campsea, Hamilton-Falkirk, Denny.

Edinburgh District – Mr Cumming, 14, Duncan-street, Secretary. – Georgie Mills, Alloa, Alva, Kirkaldy, Dundee, Perth, Aberdeen, Arbroath.

THOMAS CLARK, Cor. Sec ( corresponding secretary – editor )